South African Hip-Hop Awards voting now open

Voting for the seventh annual South African Hip-Hop Awards (SAHHAs) is now open. The winners of the 2017 SAHHAs will be announced at the The Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City in Johannesburg on 13 December 2017.
This year’s theme is ‘hip-hop politics’ and several performances have been lined up.

The nominees for the 2017 SAHHAs are:

Song of the year

Frank Casino ft. Riky Rick – Whole Thing (Remix)
Cassper Nyovest – Tito Mboweni   
Kwesta ft. Thabsie – Ngiyazfela Ngawe
Da L.E.S ft. Gemini Major – Lifestyle
OkMalumKoolKat – Gqi
Stoogie ft. Emtee and Yanga – By Any means
AKA and Anatii – 10 Fingers
AKA and Anatii – Don’t forget to Pray      
Junior Fe Rocka ft. Maraza and Golden Black – Been thinking
AKA – The World is Yours

Best album

Cassper Nyovest – Thuto
Stoogie T – Stoogie T
Shane Eagle – Yellow Picture
AKA and Anatii – Be careful what you wish for
OkMalumKoolKat – Mlazi Milano

Mixtape of the year

BigStar – TellAscope
Zoocci Coke Dope – Morning Star
Youngsta & Ganja Beatz – The Cape & Good Dope
Sliqe – Injayam Vol .1
J Molley – Dreams Money can buy

Best male

Cassper Nyovest – Thuto
Stoogie T – Stoogie T
Shane Eagle – Yellow Picture
OkmalumKooLkat – Mlazi Milano
Da L.E.S – Diamonds in Africa

Best female

Nelz – I am
Lee STK – Beautiful black Girl
Patty Monroe – Malatjie
Rouge – The New Era sessions
Megmafia – Barkston Drive

DJ of the year

DJ Speesta
Major League DJz
Junior De Rocka
DJ Sliqe

Producer of the year

Alie Keyz
Gemini Major
Co-kayn Beats
Zoocci Coke dope

Best collabo

AKA and Anatii  – 10 Fingers 
AKA and Anatii – Don’t forget to pray
Cassper Nyovest ft. Gaopele – Destiny
Kwesta ft. Thabsie – Ngiyaz’fela Ngawe 
L-Tido ft AKA  – Thixo
OKmalumkoolkat ft. Amadando – Gqi
Junior De Rocka ft. Cassper Nyovest Riky Rick and Kwesta – Been Thinking (Remix)
Da L.E.S ft. Gemini Major – Life Style
DJ Speesta ft J-Molley , Frank Casino and Zoocci Coke dope – I don’t Know
Frank Casino ft. Riky Rick – The Whole Thing (Remix)

Lyricist of the year

Shane Eagle
Stoogie T
Ginger Breadman

Freshman of the year (newcomer)

Shane Eagle
Zoocci Coke Dope
J Molley

Hustler of the year

Cassper Nyovest
Major League DJz

Best dance crew

Supreme i Crew
2Legitt Crew
Creed Crew

Best video

AKA – The World is Yours 
AKA and Anatii – 10 Fingers
Kwesta ft. Thabsie – Ngiza’fela Ngawe
Shane Eagle – Let it flow
Du Boiz ft. AKA – Halleluja
AKA – Caiphus Song
K.O – No Feelings
Youngsta and Ganja beatz – Wes kaap
Cassper Nyovest ft. Goapele – Destiny 
Cassper Nyovest – Tito Mboweni

Check out the full list of nominees and get voting before it closes on 11 December 2017.