Hot News

2017 DStv Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards – all the nominees


In a first for South African television, M-Net’s Mzansi Magic has partnered with DStv to launch a brand new awards show, one in which South African television audiences will determine the winners in 10 categories. The DStv Mzansi Viewers’ Choice Awards (DStvMVCA) will be screened live on Mzansi Magic on August 26th this year and are destined to be a glittering celebration of local talent in acting, music, sport and more, all acknowledging the country’s top stars.

1. Song of the Year

Mthande – Musa ft. Robbie Malinga (1A)
Imali – Black Motion  (1B)
Gobisiqolo – Bhizer ft. Busiswa, SG Gorna & Bhepepe (1C)
Gqi – Okmalumkoolkat (1D)
Charlotte – Prince Kaybee (1E)

2. TV Presenter

Robert Marawa (2A)
Pearl Modiadie (2B)
Phat Joe (2C)
Bonang Matheba (2D)
Thembisa Mdoda (2E)

The winners will be chosen by viewer vote. 

3. Comedian

Skhumba (3A)
Summary (3B)
Celeste Ntuli (3C)
Tumi Morake (3D)
Mashabela (3E)

4. Rising Star

Amanda Black (4A)
Zamani Mbatha (4B)
Michelle Mosalakae (4C)
Sjava (4D)
Andile Phehlukwayo (4E)

5. Radio Personality

T-Bose (5A)
Tbo Touch (5B)
Anele Mdoda (5C)
Sgqemeza (5D)

6. Actor

Ntokozo Dlamini (6A)
Warren Masemola (6B)
Siyabonga Thwala (6C)
Sello Maake Ka-Ncube (6D)
Themba Ndaba (6E)

7. Actress

Vatiswa Ndara (7A)
Thuso Mbedu (7B)
Masasa Mbangeni (7C)
Lorcia Cooper (7D)
Dawn Thandeka King (7E)

The ceremony will be held on Saturday 26 August and will air live on Mzansi Magic.

8. Music Artist / Group

Lebo Sekgobela (8A)
Black Motion (8B)
AKA (8C)
Cassper Nyovest (8D)
Kwesta (8E)

9. DJ

Black Coffee (9A)
DJ Zinhle (9B)
Prince Kaybee (9C)
DJ Shimza (9D)
DJ Tira (9E)

The ceremony will be hosted by Bonang.

10. Sports Personality

Caster Semenya (10A)
Wayde van Niekerk (10B)
Kagiso Rabada (10C)
Keagan Dolly (10D)
Akane Simbine (10E)

Life Changer

You can nominate someone you know for this award – someone who is making a positive change in your community.

The winner will win R50,000 and the person who nominates them will win the same amount.

If you’d like to nominate someone for this award, you can do so on the Mzansi Magic website here.


Voting opens at midnight on Wednesday 21 June 2017.

The voting options:

Vote via WeChat

Download the WeChat app on your smartphone, tap on search > Official Account, add ID mzansimagictv and vote up to 100 times for free. Alternatively, scan the QR code from inside WeChat for access to the Official Account. Use the keyword “dmvcavote” for quick access to voting.

Data charges apply

Vote via SMS

To vote via SMS, text the Nominee keyword (i.e. the numbers in the brackets next to the name of each nominee – 1A, 2A etc.) to 39201. SMS votes are limited to 100 votes.

R1,50 per SMS – no free SMS’s

Vote via USSD

To vote via USSD send the Nominee keyword (i.e. 1A, 2A), using the following details *120*33033#.  Votes are limited to 100 votes.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.